Census Boundary Bundle – Canada

Census Boundary Bundle represents complete hierarchies of political and census boundaries for Canada.

The standard version is updated every 5 years following the new Canada census. The enhanced version is updated quarterly and includes selected large water features and more detailed shorelines.

Canada Census Data - Map out Canada census tract and division data


  • Fast track analysis and visual representation within mapping applications
  • Conduct land use and demographic studies as well as social, economic, and market research
  • Link census data to geographic areas with unique identifiers
  • Create new geographic areas for analysis
  • Enrich with proprietary data to create thematic maps


Census Boundary Bundle (Canada) includes the following levels:

  • Provinces/Territories: all 10 provinces and 3 territories
  • Census Divisions: counties, regional districts, regional municipalities, and united counties
  • Census Metropolitan Areas/Census Agglomerations (CMA/CA): urban areas with populations over 100,000
  • Census Subdivisions: towns, cities, villages, townships, and Indian Reserves
  • Census Tracts: small communities (average population 4,000)
  • Dissemination Areas (DA): The smallest boundary for which Canada census data is provided, with populations from 400-700 persons
  • Aggregate Dissemination Area (ADA): a new boundary feature created to offer a contiguous, nationwide boundary layer, based on census tracts, census subdivisions, or dissemination areas


  • Aligns with road network data to provide additional geographic context for mapping applications
  • Boundaries roll up from the Dissemination Areas to ensure that all levels overlay correctly and provide a more accurate visual analysis



Release schedule
Standard - Every 5 years - Enhanced - Quarterly
Unit of sale
Country, Province

Contact a product
expert today

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.